The Key to Balance

The Key to Balance

This is a visual journal page inspired by Teesha Moore (with a little grunginess thrown in for good measure).    Media used include Permanent markers, collage papers and scraps (the figure is altered from pieces of Teesha Moore’s old collage sheets), craft acrylic paints, sakura gelly roll white pen, and a triplus fineliner.

Here is a close-up:

The Key to Balance - close up

Sorry it’s a little blurry.  My hand was shaking while taking the photo!  The background ended up a little darker than intended, because I’d gone over it with a burnt umber wash and then wiped away with a wet rag.  (This was before I knew it was going to be a Teesha-style page, but I used that grunginess to influence my shading along the edges of the page and in the figure.)  I am slowly learning to let my “mistakes” guide me to potentials in the piece I’m working on that I might not have otherwise seen.  There is an important lesson for me in that!

2 thoughts on “The Key to Balance

  1. Isn’t that the beauty of art journaling? Sometimes the mistakes turn the page into some better than we expected! I like the bold colors you used.

    Lorrie

    • Thanks Lorrie! Yes, those mistakes can be a wonderful surprise and opportunity. Now I know how to tone down or add a little grunginess to an entire background just by using a light colorwash of burnt umber or black, and wiping some away with a rag! I think I actually look forward to those “mistakes” now, since they offer a chance to learn something new.

I'd love your thoughts! Leave a reply.

