The Attack

“A man that flies from his fear may find that he has only taken a short cut to meet it.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Children of Húrin

Panic Attack

Panic Attack

Visual journal spread. I kept adding paint layers and detritus and stamps, scraping away here and there, adding more.  The effect is overwhelming, but so is a panic attack.  As you can see on the right side of the spread, I still need to think about spacing before I put ink to paper!

Media: acrylics, gesso, vintage paper ephemera, India ink, Sakura gelly roll pen, masking tape, alphabet stickers

A couple close-ups:

Panic Attack, close-up

Panic Attack, close-up

Panic Attack, close-up #2

Panic Attack, close-up #2

Let me know what you think!  And if you haven’t done so yet, sign up for the giveaway here.  I’ll mail someone three little art cards as well as a cool pack of unique vintage ephemera.

10 thoughts on “The Attack

  1. I love all those layers, and the strong colour. You’ve got your message across beautifully – don’t beat yourself up re spacing of letters! Sometimes it’s the getting down onto the page…

    • Thank you, Susie! You wouldn’t believe some of the colors I started out with – neon green and hot pink! I just kept adding until finally it started to speak to me. And you are right about getting it out and onto the page. It’s an art journal after all, and I keep telling myself,”no judgements.” 🙂

  2. Great way to do the panic in your journal!! Love all the layers and the texture they create. I am really into layers right now…especially when the layers blend so beautifully together!

I'd love your thoughts! Leave a reply.

