The Traveling Journal of A Paper Bear

Brian Kasstle, otherwise known as A Paper Bear, has a traveling journal as part of the 1001 Journals Project.  I had the honor and deep pleasure of creating two spreads in his wonderful landscape Cachet journal.  If you haven’t seen his art before, be sure to head on over.  It’s a visual feast and you can feel the tactile nature of his spreads virtually leap off the screen.  You can also still sign up for one of his journals, just stop by his site to contact him and learn more.

My entries:

my inclusion in Brian Kasstle's journal, spread 1

my inclusion in Brian Kasstle’s journal, spread 1 (click to enlarge)

Some of the elements incorporated into this spread include: walnut ink, acrylic ink, homemade acrylic sprays, craft paint (including several metallics), India ink, collage elements, homemade stencil, , mesh, oil pastel rubbing on parchment paper.
Here is a close-up so you can see some of the texture:

spread 1, close-up

spread 1, close-up (click to enlarge)

I did another spread as well, going in a completely different direction.  (If you follow my blog, you know by now that I’m a try-any-kind-of-style person, and will eventually incorporate the elements I like and enjoy into my future artwork).

my inclusion in Brian Kasstle's journal, spread 2

my inclusion in Brian Kasstle’s journal, spread 2 (click for larger view)

I think the styling if this face was inspired by someone I once saw browsing the internet; the idea stuck in my head, but I didn’t save the artist’s name or artwork at the time, so if you have any ideas, please let me know so I can credit them.  The scribbles are just exploring mark-making with India ink and a brush.  (Art journals are a great place to try out something new and to learn).  Materials used include: coffee, walnut ink, Master’s Touch acrylics in payne’s grey and viridi, gesso, and oil pastels.

There is some texture on these pages, too, from intentional distressing (rubbing with wet fingers, stiff brush, sandpaper).  Click on the image to enlarge:

spread 2, close-up A

spread 2, close-up A

spread 2, close-up B

spread 2, close-up B

I always love to hear your thoughts and critiques, so let me know what you think!

Also, there are still a couple of days to sign up for the giveaway to win three art miniatures and a (mostly) vintage ephemera pack.  Click here to find out more.

4 thoughts on “The Traveling Journal of A Paper Bear

  1. Thank you Elizabeth for participating in my 1001 journal. Your spreads are truly amazing and wonderful. It is great to see them close up! I am so glad you participated!

I'd love your thoughts! Leave a reply.

